I grew up in Tubbergen, a nice little town in the Eastern part of the Netherlands. I liked to play sports all my life. When I was 8 years old I started playing basketball. I had so much fun doing this! Going through the national youth teams and playing in the Dutch ‘Eredivisie’ I quit playing basketball when I was about 20 years old. Due to injuries, but maybe even more because of the love of enjoying sports outside and to explore nature! I got my first roadbike when I started studying physiotherapy in Utrecht. When I got my bachelor degree I started to work as a physiotherapist in different private practices in the Netherlands. The combination of work and sports was nice, but I always knew I once had to go for it 100%! During holidays I always wanted to go to the Alps and be in the mountains. Hiking, snowboarding and more and more by bike!


the love for the mountains

I started mountainbiking in 2011. Living in Oldenzaal, where I joined the local Zwiep MTB Team. Two very cool seasons where I got to know the sport better. Moving to Freiburg-Germany, 2 years later made me decide to take my sport to the next level. Combining training and racing with my job as a therapist at Sport-Reha in Freiburg. 

When moving to Germany I joined the Wheeler-iXS-Team from Klaus Ketterer, based in Titisee-Neustadt. Through the team I also met my current trainer Pascal Ketterer, where I first experienced what it was like to train according to a plan. And also realized that training was different than just ridinh your bike around. In these two seasons I learned so much! Being able to race Bundesliga- and Swisscup XCO races, big international marathons and even stage races, made me realize that this is what I want! And even more where I want to get better in!


My best season so far

It was really great to see that all the training and hard work paid off and that I was able to win Dutch National Championships Marathon 3 years in a row now. In the spring of 2015 I  took part in the Cape Epic again. Starting strong with 3rd in the Prologue and 3rd in the 2nd stage. Unfortunately we had to drop out due to illness later. After a big crash in my homerace in Kirchzarten I had to take some time off.. but later I came back strong with podiums in Ischgl, Montafon, Grand Raid, Trans Schwarzwald and the Swiss Epic. 

Riding for my own 'Rent a Plant - Cannondale' Team was a great experience. Through individual sponsors I managed to bridge the 2015 season. I learned a lot as a rider but also as a person. Taking care of everything myself was a nice challenge, and I think it went pretty well. 

This may have led to my new contract with the Craft Rocky Mountain Factory Team. A super nice step forward in my career where I hope to build on new successes and other great experiences. The team, the management, the atmosphere, is awesome. I am super motivated to work and train hard to go for a great new season. #LOVE THE RIDE suits me very well I think!!! :-)

— The text above was written two years ago. In the meantime a lot has happened and a lot has changed. I was riding my bike as a professionell in the 2016 season. I could grap another Dutch marathon title and got 11th at worlds that year. In 2017 the season had her ups and downs but went pretty well. The team’s name changed to Maloja - Rocky Mountain and I started to combine the cyclist life with work in a physiotherapy practise again. And I followed my dream of being in the mountains all year long and moved to the Swiss Alps, Davos. About the 2018 season you can read in my blog… :-) Cheers!